The Neurology Department provides a clinical and diagnostic service for assessment and management of patients with disorders of brain, spinal cord, nerve and muscle. Our inpatient service includes a dedicated four bed acute stroke unit and multidisciplinary team of nurses and allied health professionals. A full range of neurological subspecialties is represented within the department. A conjoint meeting with the Departments of Neuroradiology and Neurosurgery serves as a medium to facilitate diagnosis and management. All neurologists have affiliations with the Universities of New South Wales, Notre Dame and/or Sydney. All neurologists are involved in the training of an Australian St Vincent’s Private Hospital / Campus Advanced Neurology trainee by virtue of a Federal Government grant. Beyond clinical consultations, additional diagnostic and procedural services include:

  • A comprehensive clinical neurophysiology service (through arrangement with St Vincent’s Public Hospital)
    • Nerve conduction studies and EMG
    • EEG
    • Somatosensory evoked potentials, visual evoked potentials, brainstem auditory evoked potentials and motor evoked potentials
    • Diagnostic nerve and muscle ultrasound
    • Ultrasound-guided nerve and muscle procedures (e.g. nerve blocks)
  • Botulinum toxin for neurological conditions including dystonia and migraine
  • Advanced therapies for Parkinson’s Disease including deep brain stimulation, apomorphine and Duodopa
  • Deep brain stimulation for Dystonia and Tremor
  • Muscle biopsy
  • Clinical trials

Our Specialists

Return to search..
Specialist Tel Fax Department
Associate Professor Paul Darveniza
Associate Professor Ray Garrick AM
Associate Professor Romesh Markus
Dr Ian Sutton
Dr John O'Neill
Dr Neil Simon
Dr Samuel Bolitho
Dr Stephen Tisch
Dr Susan Tomlinson
Professor Bruce J. Brew