Orthopaedic Surgery


The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery provides a complete adult orthopaedic and trauma service. The department is active in both basic science and clinical research with the Department of Vascular Medicine and the Department of Rheumatology as well as the Garvan Institute of Medical Research.

Our department is well represented in the activities of the Australian Orthopaedic Association and at regular scientific and clinical conferences, both in Australia and overseas.

The primary activities of the department are:

  • Adult joint reconstruction and replacement, complex revision joint replacement
  • Bone transplantation and allografting
  • Reconstructive surgery of the foot and ankle
  • Shoulder and elbow surgery
  • Arthroscopic knee and ligament reconstruction
  • Musculoskeletal oncology
  • Trauma and reconstructive surgery following fracture

Our Specialists

Return to search..
Specialist Tel Fax Department
Associate Professor Brett Courtenay
Associate Professor Craig S. Waller
Associate Professor Michael Neil
Associate Professor Simon Tan
Dr Amir Kalanie
Dr Andrew Higgs
Dr Bradley Seeto
Dr Bu Balalla
Dr Darren B. Chen
Dr Horng Lii Oh
Dr John Rooney
Dr Matt Lyons
Dr Matthew Yalizis
Dr Michael Dixon
Dr Michael Solomon
Dr Nick Vertzyas
Dr Oliver Khoo
Dr Stephen Quain
Dr Tim Small
Dr Timothy Yeoh
Dr Warren Philip Kuo
Professor Martin Sullivan